Posted by: brianc74 | January 6, 2011

Ganking’s More Fun When You’re Doing It

I got home late last night because I attended my first Cub Scout meeting.  I was asked to help out at my church and so I did.  Looking forward to it because I remember really enjoying Cub Scouts. Boy Scouts? Not so much…

Anyway as I got home and logged into vent, I hear everyone laughing about killing Horde. Turns out that a few of them were doing the Crucible quests in Twilight Highlands and a couple of Horde decided to have a little fun with them. Unfortunately it wasn’t working in their favor! XD

So I log into my shaman and head out there to assist and invite another guildie who wasn’t in the group doing the quests. We killed a rogue and death knight and harassed a couple of others who appeared to be considering joining the festivities. As they finished up their quests and leave their group, people start asking for invites into my group to kill Hordies. Next thing I know I’m in a raid of seven people flying around Twilight Highlands looking for Horde.

There were a lot of 84’s questing and we must have killed the same mage at least a dozen times in the space of 30 minutes. Each kill made us laugh and some kills made us laugh harder (read: Flame Shock dot killing fleeing Hordie as he tries to fly away)! But in all fairness there were a lot of 85’s as well doing dailies and farming that met their maker as well.

It did get pretty funny until I ran into a former guildie who had faction transferred. Although we did kill her a couple of times we did recall that she wasn’t one of what we would have classified as a “problem person”. At that point I had to convince a couple of them that we shouldn’t keep going at her and got them to back off, although I do think one of them got her a couple more times without telling us.  However her guildies that showed up were totally fair game!

I suppose the moral of the story is “ganking’s a lot more fun when you’re doing it” and not getting it done to you.

Responses

  1. […] mass slaughter of lowbies leveling archeology, and it certainly doesn’t explain things like this, where a group of people decide that it’s TOTALLY fun to gang up on a bunch of people who are […]

    • True. I’ll not deny that this was an asshole thing to do, but I long ago grudgingly accepted that it is a fact of life on a PvP server and is totally in line with the spirit of the game. Even if it is a spirit I haven’t agreed with in the past.

      Now if this makes me an asshole, then so be it. I’m not generally one for the rule of “do unto others before they do unto you”, but I have changed my views on ganking since being camped by Hordies at the initial spawn location in Uldum. Teleport in? Die! At least in our case we weren’t standing over the corpses camping. We always left and returned later. Those guys camped for over 2 hours without ever leaving the spot until a group of Alliance came in and wiped them out.

      I do not condone ganking lowbies (read: anyone 10+ lvls lower than you), which is odd considering I think we can all accept that it isn’t a fair fight, but when is two lvl 85s ever a fair fight? It would only be fair if everyone had the exact same gear/stats/class/spec/etc. to level the playing field. WoW will never be fair. It’ll always be one sided.

      • True. I’ll not deny that this was an asshole thing to do, but I long ago grudgingly accepted that it is a fact of life on a PvP server and is totally in line with the spirit of the game. Even if it is a spirit I haven’t agreed with in the past.

        It just makes me sad to see someone else I thought was one of the good guys turn into a bully – even if it was just for one night – and then brag about how good it felt to be a bully.

        I too was camped at the Uldum portal. Repeated. On both factions. But my response to that was “Wow, what a dickish thing to do! I can’t fathom why anyone would think that griefing other people is fun.”

        WoW will never be fair. It’ll always be one sided.

        Nope, it’ll never be perfectly fair. It’s the nature of the beast. But deliberately going out of your way to make it LESS fair is what riles me up. If this post had been a “rawr, I’m amazing, I ran around killing other level 85s one on one for hours” I would have probably twitched a little (because I am a care bear), but I also would have respected the skill that that takes. Killing people 7 on 1 takes no skill, and just feels kind of sad to me.

  2. Everyone else is being nice and skirting the topic. I don’t reply on blogs very often but this warrants it as no one will say the obvious. Brotherhood of Oblivion really has no place making a raid to grief questers in Twilight Highlands. If you are 85 and forming a raid you should A) go and actually try to raid, or if you prefer pvp B) go do rated battlegrounds. If you just can’t hack either of those… don’t make raids or maybe relook at what guild you are in and what you are doing if you are that bored. This is just further proof of the quality of morals and intelligence in BoO. Kyr I thought you were the one shining example of someone with half a brain in that guild…sadly my last bastion of hope there has been proven to be another lump of steaming debris. I hoped for more from a reluctantly allied guild.

    • Ah but apparently I only had half a brain to begin with? LOL

      And reluctantly allied guild? If you’re referring to BoO and SiB, we aren’t allied in any way, shape, or form. A couple people have friends on both sides, but to say we’re allied would be a farce. We have people who won’t run with certain people in SiB and I’m sure the same applies in reverse.

  3. Nothing wrong with being a care bear, Krikket! Even a care bear on a PvP server. Don’t let anyone tell you otherwise.

    As for bragging? If I came across as a braggart, then I apologize as that was not my intent. The title of the post was supposed to convey a sense of irony that ganking is fun, but only when you’re not on the receiving end. Your response definitely proves that.

    Now I’ve never been one for ganking in the past. However in this expansion I made a conscious decision to change that. I decided that in this expansion that I would quit trying to change the PvP world, accept it, and join in. So I have ganked my fair share in Uldum while farming and although I wouldn’t normally stoop to ganking anyone lower than 3 lvls from me, I will admit to purposely ganking lvl 76s mining in Uldum. Seriously, what else do you expect? Level your toon if you want to mine there.

    I’ll admit that this decision is in large part due to the bitterness I have towards the average, anonymous WoW player who cannot avoid trolling in trade chat, ganking lowbies, and generally makes an ass of himself through epeening. This bitterness has only been amplified by the frustrations that resulted from the guild meltdown caused by a complete lack of self control and decency from people on both sides; people that I liked, respected, and feel should know better.

    7 vs 1 takes no skill, but most PvP takes little skill imo. It’s almost always about who gets the drop on who first. But if it makes me an ass and a bully, then I’ve also decided it’s something I can accept. And if I’ve let you down, I can only say I’m sorry, but I’m also no longer the exact same person I was when you joined BoO. The drama took care of that.

    • I guess we’ll have to agree to disagree. Because the only thing I can think while reading all your comment is “Why become part of the problem?” I don’t know that if you took weeks explaining it, you could make me understand how that’s a better solution than taking the higher ground.

      … I guess if it works for you? I don’t know. I just can’t get past the concept that making other people miserable for the enjoyment of it is wrong. YMMV.

      To be fair? I probably dislike the “average anonymous WoW player” as much as you do. I just react to it differently, I guess.

      And again, to be clear, I have no issues with killing a player of the opposite faction to get a node of some sort – no matter what the level. You want that ore? Fight for it. That’s “fair” (and I use the term loosely) play.

      I guess I’ve just never seen the joy in being deliberately mean. And that’s what it keeps coming back to.

      I think I said this at the time, but I feel it bears repeating: If I have no other regrets about all the shit that went down several months ago, I regret that it affected you so much. Whereas you seem to have come away with more disappointment than anything, I was pleasantly surprised by how many people took the time to think through what happened, and come out the other side better people. There was hurt & meanness & thoughtlessness in spades, and I won’t deny that I’m still a little bitter about some things.

      … and yet clearly, it hasn’t deterred me from saying what’s on my mind, and speaking out against things that I feel are wrong. Which might be an unfixable flaw in me, but it’s one I can live with.

  4. I’ll admit that this decision is in large part due to the bitterness I have towards the average, anonymous WoW player who cannot avoid trolling in trade chat, ganking lowbies, and generally makes an ass of himself through epeening.

    Kyr, Kyr, KYR! WHAT IN THE RAMALAMADINGDONG are you DOING?? It’s terrible out there, so I’ll be terrible too? Dude! That makes absolutely no sense – unless you’ve completely lost hope? You’re not That Jerk, and there’s no reason you have to pretend to be That Jerk.

    We have to be kind to each other to affect kindness universally. Period. This notion does not exclude pvp, it just means that we have to play fair to be played fair with. We have to make it “cool” to play fair to get others to play fair.

    Please don’t turn into a jerk. You were one of the people that made the decision to leave BoO so hard.

    In completely other news, this:
    …but most PvP takes little skill imo.

    Oooh – I must disagree. I get my butt handed to me despite my trying pretty regularly in pvp. The handful of fights I have won made me sweat, and swear like a sailor, in the process. BE CAREFUL out there!

    • We have to be kind to each other to affect kindness universally. Period. This notion does not exclude pvp, it just means that we have to play fair to be played fair with. We have to make it “cool” to play fair to get others to play fair.

      Couldn’t agree more.

      You were one of the people that made the decision to leave BoO so hard.

      I appreciate that, I really do. And now I wonder who you are and if you tell me you’re Shrove, then I’m going to feel worse than I already do that we ganked you. Which I deserve as well because that was my fault. I turned around, saw a druid, Flame Shocked, and realized who it was way too late. The only saving grace being that I attempted to get them to stop after that. But there’s no controlling that DK…

      • Yep, that’s Shrove.

      • Shhh – it’s ok, here we are talking (& me without my sassy mouth this time – sorry about that). We live and we learn. Personally, I make tons of mistakes along the way.

        xoxox


Leave a Reply

Categories

